Museo delle Navi Romane
The Museo delle Navi Romane, the Museum of Roman Ships, was opened between 1933 and 1939 to exhibit two imperial ships that belonged to Emperor Caligula (37-41 AD) and were found in the waters of Lake Nemi between 1929 and 1931. Destroyed by a fire in 1944, the museum was finally opened to the public in the late Eighties. Nowadays, the museum exhibits materials and documental evidence about the hulls and the story of how they have been brought to light.
A prehistoric and protohistoric section exhibits stone materials, finds from the mid-Bronze Age (XVI century BC) and the Iron Age (XI-VIII century BC) from the settlements and necropolises of the Castelli Romani region. A section is about the settlements of the Albano area in the Republican and Imperial age, with special reference to some religious aspects. In addition, it exhibits finds from the excavations of the sanctuary of Diana Nemorense and materials of excellent artistic quality that were found in the excavations at Ardea and the ancient Satricum, including architectural terracotta pieces and ceramics from votive offerings.
Address and Contact details:
Via Diana, 15 - Nemi
ticket € 2